Less Music

I just realized recently that my immersion environment is being taxed by the amount of music that I’m listening to–Japanese music forms a large majority of my environment.  This sucks because lately I’ve been listening less and less, probably because it’s discouraging.  I’ve decided to listen to more audio that’s been ripped from Japanese movies and stuff.  I found  a free sound recorder that will record any of the sound coming out of your sound card (okay, obviously I have no idea what I’m talking about, but you get the idea…).  For me at least, listening to a lot of dialogue and speaking versus music seems better.  It’s more encouraging and interesting, and I find that I have many more instances where I recognize what’s being said.  You know what I’m talking about; where you’re like, “oh!  He just said x…”  This happens virtually never when I’m listening to music that I’ve heard a thousand times.  I figure these instances are probably very important to the environment, especially in light of a book by Stephen Krashen that I’ve been reading lately: “The Natural Approach: Language Acquisition in the Classroom.”  He talks a lot about “comprehensible input” for your learning/acquiring environment.  Anyways, basically I just wanted to say I’ll be listening to more dialogue and speaking that I will music for my immersion environment.

Leave a Reply

