RELAPSE

Oh no.  Here’s the deal.  I’ve been learning French for much longer than I’ve been learning Japanese (and through traditional, grammar methods in school, btw).  I’m giving it up for that I (may have?) stated in an earlier post.  It was going to be my major.  But I’ve taken Khatz’ advice to “stop sucking at one language and get good at one.”  In deciding, I chose Japanese for many reasons (if you’ve checked out my other blog, yeah, that’s why I’m studying Japanese; for that reason, French isn’t very practical…).  

Anyways, before I chose Japanese “officially” and discovered/started using Khatzumoto‘s advice for learning acquiring language, I debated using his “laddering” method to learn French to awesome fluency and then going on to Japanese from French.  But….I decided against it.  Partly because…well…I just don’t know why.  I guess it’s just impractical.  And I really do want to get “amazing” at Japanese.

So, as you may or may not know, it is, as of this post, nearing the end of first semester.  Since I made this decision after the start of this semester, I’m still enrolled in my college French class.  However, I’ve been loathing it and the grammar-based approach more and more since I started AJATTing.  Now that I’m nearing the end though, I’m starting to get emotional.  Though I would certainly not try to use the classroom methods to reach fluency in French, this kind of marks the end of my foray in the world of French.  Je suis triste.  I am sad.  You have no idea.  

My sadness about leaving the French language sounds lame, but I’m very serious.  Everytime I hear French somewhere on TV or elsewhere (my class doesn’t count though; I’m talking about anytime I hear native-spoken french because non-native French is, simply put, disgusting in many ways…) I get this…nostalgic feeling.  Though I certainly believe Japanese and Kanji are very, very beautiful, I think French is by far the most beautiful language I have studied/heard.  I can’t even describe it.  

Today I was watching a movie on TV with my Dad (I know, breech of AJATT etiquette, lol…), and there was a bit of French spoken by one of the characters.  Seriously, I almost broke down in tears.  I miss it so much already.  (I miss it loads more than I miss the English stuff that I’ve gotten rid of…)  I’m just itching to pop in the soundtrack to “Le Roi Soleil.”  Even as I’m writing this, wow, I feel sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo emotional and depressed.  OMGosh.  

I’m thinking, maybe I’ll ladder french sometime waaaaay in the future.  But…dang.  I just don’t want to say goodbye.  I love the language sooo much.  It’s so beautiful.  Like, don’t worry, I’m not going back on my decision to learn Japanese or anything.  This isn’t going to become iFrancais or something.  I’m just vocalizing my stress here, that’s all.  (sighs)  As far as learning this waaaay in the future, I hope this doesn’t turn into some random polyglot fantasy that never happens (you know what I’m talking about, lol, we all have them).  I often spend oodles of my precious minutes wikipediaing languages I’d like to learn.  Mandarin Chinese and other dialects, Ainu language, Korean, German, Slovenian, Old Norse, Old English/Anglo-Saxon, Hebrew, Greek, Farsi, Gaelic, Hungarian, and tons of others.  I know most of these will never happen though.  I’m just hoping that, some years down the road after I’ve attained awesome Japanese fluency and have used it for sometime and I finally have a bit more time and direction than I do now as a college student, I’m able to pick up/rediscover my long lost love: French.  

That was really lame, lol…

BTW, I did actually have a bit of a relapse.  The other day, I broke down and popped in my Yelle CD, listened to it, and then spent a few hours on youtube watching stuff about Yelle.  Yeah, that didn’t help this whole issue, lol…

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    2nihon said,

    You don’t have to give up French totally. Matter of fact, I would keep refreshing yourself from time to time. You spent all the time and effort, and it’s obvious you love it, so why restrict yourself?

    This might help: Sometimes I get burned out on L2 (second language) acquisition, so (when I’m being good) I will follow Khatz’s advice and switch to L3, which for me is Russian. I’ll put on Kino or Avia or some other Russian music and chat with my Russian friend, then get back to Japanese in a little bit. You’re on L3 acquisition right now. I don’t think it’s as much of a digression to go back to L2 than it is to go back to L1. So if you get bored with L3, go back to L2 for a bit. There has to be some French you don’t know. Heck, Khatz mentioned that he still watches ‘Trick’ and reads some Japanese manga, even though he’s all gung-ho into Mandarin Chinese.

    Sometimes we have to retreat into a comfortable spot for a bit, rest a while, then go back at it full-force. There’s nobody beating you over the head except yourself. 🙂

  2. 2

    igordesu said,

    That’s true. Maybe I won’t completely nix the French. I’ll just keep my *Le Roi Soleil* CD for whenever I’m feeling down. Mix it up a bit. That sort of thing.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

