Hisashiburi!

Hisashiburi.  It has been quite a long time since I’ve paid any attention to this blog.  And my other blogs?  Hahahahahahaaa.  Don’t make me laugh.  I don’t even remember what they’re about it’s been so long.  Anyways…

So, what’s first? Kanji?

Just another Kanji poster update.

Just another Kanji poster update.

Officially, I’m at 891.  But, some of the newer ones have a few days (or longer) to solidify since I’ve just added them “the system.”  I’m pretty excited.  I have off of school until like the 26th, so I’m looking to get at the very minimum a very large majority of RTK1 finished before school.  I cannot wait for sentences.  Holy cow.  You have no idea; I’m sooooo anxious.

I’ve also recently turned off the subtitles.  In celebration of that, I got the series of this anime called RahXephon when we were at Best Buy.  At first, I was like, “oh, this is just fabulous; giant robots.”  I was really expecting it to be terrible because I hate giant robot anime, but it is actually really amazing.  And you know what?  It actually has a really good story!  Yeah, that’s right.  You weren’t expecting that, were you?!  The only thing is, I found out that the DVDs didn’t have an option of Japanese language for the audio, but no subtitles.  Instead, it just has “english language” and “japanese language w/ english subtitles”.  The whole purpose of buying anime was so that I DIDN’T have to cover up fansubtitles/etc from the internet with post-it notes.  But now, since I don’t have the option of turning off the subs, I have to use post-its anyways.  You see?!  It’s all because the post-its were angry that I forsook them before.  Now, they’ve come back to haunt me.  (In addition to this, I’ve been obsessively watching The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya; pretty awesome).

edit:   I just discovered that I CAN turn off the subtitles.  The DVD itself doesn’t let you, but the VLC media player has a thing where you can manually control all the video and audio tracks, so I finally can turn off the subs.  Take that post-its!!!Bwahahahahahahaha!

Guess what else!  My external usb dvd drive for my computer came in the mail!  I got it to replace my sometimes-works internal dvd drive.  You know what I discovered?!  It’s REGION-FREE.  Flipping awesome.  I love it.  Now I’ll be able to watch the Matrix in Japanese when it comes in the mail.

edit2:It actually isn’t region free :(.  The only reason I can play other region stuff is because I’m using VLC media player.  Apparently that’s region free.  Oh well.  There’s another one for VLC media player!  

Also, my father recently decided that he wants to start learning Hebrew.  So I was like “Dude, I got the hookups whenever you be ready to start learning acquiring a language.”  So now I’m going to help him learn the alphabet and get him started on listening and doing sentences.  It’ll be fun.

Speaking of that, we recently engaged in a wicked(-ly fun/awesome) debate about “religious stuff” over in the RTK forums.  It was a blast.  But…I wasn’t getting anything else done.   So I had to quit.  But it was fun.  You should check it out.

Anyways, that’s about it.  I’ll keep you posted.  I really want to write more, lol, but I’m kinda lazy.  So, I’ll catch y’all later!

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Keep at the RTK! You may hit a few (more) walls along the way, but just keep at it and don’t slack on your SRS reviews (like I did), it’s so worth it. The sentence phase is so much more enjoyable, but the benefit of RTK makes it pretty essential to complete first.

    Best of luck to you and your father on learning Hebrew, as well – sounds like it’d be a lot of fun! Just be careful not to let it distract you too much from the language you’re currently studying, of course. Personally, I’m often tempted to take a little break from Japanese and study a bit of Mandarin, or Korean, or Arabic or Finnish or something even more out there, but alas, I’m firmly rooted to 日本語 for the foreseeable future!

  2. 2

    igordesu said,

    Thank you so much for your encouragement! I’m definitely anxious to start sentences. I’ll probably wait a week or two after I finish RTK until I start, though, since I’m want the kanji to be solid in my memory. I’m also already stressing out about how we’ll be doing the sentences. I’m probably thinking of a mix of production/audio-dictation ones (like from iKnow or something) and non-production/plain ol’ reading-copying ones (if that makes sense). Probably since I’ve heard production sentences can be quite a difficult, time-eating beast sometimes.

    Anyways, enough of my rambling. Thank you very much. I also get it with the wanting to learn other languages thing. It’s sooooo tempting, lol. So, Good luck with your Japanese!

  3. 3

    2nihon said,

    Haha, yeah, I have the same problem Burritolingus has. I have a couple of Russian friends and have become interested in learning that language, too. And of course I want to know Korean, because there are a ton of Korean businesses where I live and it would be cool to be able to read those signs.

    I learned a little bit of Hebrew a few years back, the aleph-bet and the vowel marks. I don’t know the structure of the language well, but I know it’s so much easier to learn 20-something characters than it is 3000+. Oh well! 😀

    Have you searched around for a region-unlocking hack for your external DVD drive? There has to be a way.

    Hmm, post-it notes, hadn’t thought of that. On my computer, I was just opening up a Notepad window and sticking that over the subtitles.

    Cool on the sentences. Me, I’m going through the RTK3 kanji, so it’ll be another few weeks until I get into sentences. I could have gone for sentences right after RTK1, but after reading the intro to RTK3, I decided I might want to get a few more under my belt first. The beauty of the system, though, is that you can always add new kanji and memorize them quickly. For example, I added 墟, which is from the word for ruins, 廃墟 (はいきょ, haikyo), and since I know how to break it down into components already, I just assigned it a keyword, ‘ruins’, and that will be kanji #3008. When I start sentences, which, Lord and personal stamina willing, will be in a few short weeks, I can just add more as needed. Never would have made it without Khatz. He’s a godsend, that’s for sure.

  4. 4

    I’d definitely be interested in which sentence method(s) both of you folk end up going. I’ve had a bit of a rocky start, but I think I’m pretty comfortable with iKnow’s sentences for now. (Plus, the Anki plugin for importing iKnow material = sweeeeeet) In fact, I’m gonna try going through iKnow’s lessons concurrently for the sake of my awful vocabulary. Very, very handy site, that!

    At any rate, keep it up!

  5. 5

    igordesu said,

    Ha, thanks for the advice. For sentences I’ll probably end up doing a mix. I’ll do some of the “traditional sentences.” And then I’ll do *maybe* some audio ones from iKnow. And then I’ll probably do some of the “production” ones which are kana-to-kanji; though I might use Khatz’ “image hack” to make those a bit easier/quicker.

  6. 6

    2nihon said,

    I haven’t given much thought to sentences yet because I’m trying to finish the RTK3 kanji as quickly as I can. I might go the iKnow! route as well. I have a few manga at home that I might mine some sentences from, too.

  7. 7

    Alyks said,

    I wrote a big long anime/movie/manga recommendation on my blog here:
    http://alyks-rant.blogspot.com/2009/01/manga-movie-anime-recommendations.html

    I agree with how awesome RahXephon is and gave it 6 out of 6 stars.

    How far with RTK are you?

  8. 8

    igordesu said,

    Sweet. Thanks for the recommendations. I’m somewhere abouts…1228-ish. Before the end of today I’m looking at 1300-ish hopefully. Yeah, I know the reviews are going to kill me in anki pretty soon, but you gotta get done what you gotta get done when you have the time, y’know?

  9. 9

    igordesu said,

    ps. how far are you with sentences?

  10. 10

    Alyks said,

    I’m at 2500. Actually I’d be further along, but it’s getting a little hard to find sentences with new things.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

